Home > Sources

Sources

Research and Image Sources

Practical Cryptography. “ADFGVX.” Accessed April 25, 2020. http://practicalcryptography.com/ciphers/classical-era/adfgvx/.

Crypto Corner. “Atbash Cipher.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/atbash-cipher.html.

By. “The Zimmermann Telegram.” Hackaday (blog), January 26, 2017. https://hackaday.com/2017/01/26/the-zimmermann-telegram/.

“Caesar Cipher.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cs.mcgill.ca/~rwest/wikispeedia/wpcd/wp/c/Caesar_cipher.htm.

Callahan, Katelyn. “The Impact of the Allied Cryptographers on World War II: Cryptanalysis of the Japanese and German Cipher Machines,” n.d., 14.

“Cipher Machines.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://ciphermachines.com/purple.

“Ciphertext.” In Wikipedia, February 16, 2020. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Ciphertext&oldid=941031907.

“Confederate Cipher Disc.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/usa/ccd/index.htm.

“Count On :: Codebreaking :: The Vigenère Cipher.” Accessed April 25, 2020. http://www.counton.org/explorer/codebreaking/vigenere-cipher.php.

“Cryptographic Equipment.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://www.campx.ca/crypto.html.

“Cryptography 101 - - ADFGVX - YouTube.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5-ory-Z25g.

Encyclopedia Britannica. “Cryptology - Developments during World Wars I and II.” Accessed February 9, 2020. https://www.britannica.com/topic/cryptology.

“Encryption Helped Win America’s Revolutionary War - Security Boulevard.” Accessed February 11, 2020. https://securityboulevard.com/2019/07/encryption-helped-win-americas-revolutionary-war/.

“Enigma Cipher Machine.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/enigma/index.htm.

February 22, Clara Moskowitz, and 2012. “Hacking Quantum Cryptography Just Got Harder.” livescience.com. Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.livescience.com/18587-hacking-quantum-cryptography-unbreakable-code.html.

“Fialka: The Bigger, Better, Russian Enigma – Cryptography.” Accessed February 24, 2020. https://derekbruff.org/blogs/fywscrypto/historical-crypto/fialka-the-bigger-better-russian-enigma/.

“Fialka: The Bigger, Better, Russian Enigma – Cryptography.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://derekbruff.org/blogs/fywscrypto/historical-crypto/fialka-the-bigger-better-russian-enigma/.

Crypto Corner. “Frequency Analysis: Breaking the Code.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/frequency-analysis-breaking-the-code.html.

“Giddings Field Message Book.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/usa/giddings/index.htm.

Crypto Corner. “Glossary.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/glossary.html.

Crypto Corner. “Hill Cipher.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/hill-cipher.html.

“History of Cryptography.” Accessed February 9, 2020. https://www.codesandciphers.org.uk/heritage/ModSec.htm.

“JILL: Cryptography in World War II.” Accessed February 9, 2020. http://www.cs.virginia.edu/jillcrypto/.

July 2, Patrick Nohe on, and 2019. “Encryption Helped Win America’s Revolutionary War.” Security Boulevard, July 2, 2019. https://securityboulevard.com/2019/07/encryption-helped-win-americas-revolutionary-war/.

“KY-38.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/usa/ky38/index.htm.

“Lorenz SZ-40/42.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/lorenz/sz40/index.htm.

“M-94.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/usa/m94/index.htm.

“M-209.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/hagelin/m209/index.htm.

“Magic | Operations & Codenames of WWII.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://codenames.info/operation/magic/.

Crypto Corner. “Monoalphabetic Substitution Ciphers.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/monoalphabetic-substitution-ciphers.html.

Crypto Corner. “Pigpen Cipher.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/pigpen-cipher.html.

Crypto Corner. “Playfair Cipher.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/playfair-cipher.html.

Crypto Corner. “Polybius Square.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/polybius-square.html.

“Practical Cryptography.” Accessed April 26, 2020. http://practicalcryptography.com/ciphers/classical-era/.

Crypto Corner. “Route Cipher.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://crypto.interactive-maths.com/route-cipher.html.

“SCARD- CRYPTOGRAPHY HOME PAGE.” Accessed February 11, 2020. http://www.civilwarsignals.org/pages/crypto/crypto.html.

“Scytale.” In Wikipedia, February 6, 2020. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Scytale&oldid=939418714.

“SIGABA.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://www.cryptomuseum.com/crypto/usa/sigaba/index.htm.

“T-52 Geheimschreiber.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://cryptomuseum.com/crypto/siemens/t52/index.htm.

Telegraph, The. “Code Breakers Finally Crack The Mysterious Cypher On The WWII Carrier Pigeon.” Business Insider. Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.businessinsider.com/code-breakers-finally-crack-the-mysterious-cypher-on-the-wwii-carrier-pigeon-2012-12.

George Washington’s Mount Vernon. “The Culper Code Book.” Accessed April 25, 2020. http://www.mountvernon.org/george-washington/the-revolutionary-war/spying-and-espionage/the-culper-code-book/.

“The Enigma of Alan Turing — Central Intelligence Agency.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.cia.gov/news-information/featured-story-archive/2015-featured-story-archive/the-enigma-of-alan-turing.html.

“The History Blog » Blog Archive » Canadian Cracks the WWII Carrier Pigeon Code?” Accessed April 25, 2020. http://www.thehistoryblog.com/archives/22223.

“Typex.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://cryptomuseum.com/crypto/uk/typex/index.htm.

“Ultra | Operations & Codenames of WWII.” Accessed April 26, 2020. https://codenames.info/operation/ultra/.

Encyclopedia Britannica. “Vigenère Cipher | Cryptology.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.britannica.com/topic/Vigenere-cipher.

National Museum of the United States Air ForceTM. “War of Secrets: Cryptology in WWII.” Accessed April 26, 2020. http://www.nationalmuseum.af.mil/Visit/Museum-Exhibits/Fact-Sheets/Display/Article/196193/war-of-secrets-cryptology-in-wwii/.

PreVeil. “What Are Public and Private Key Pairs and How Do They Work.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://www.preveil.com/blog/public-and-private-key/.

Comparitech. “What Is 3DES Encryption and How Does DES Work?,” February 20, 2019. https://www.comparitech.com/blog/information-security/3des-encryption/.

SearchSecurity. “What Is AES Encryption and How Does It Work?” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/definition/Advanced-Encryption-Standard.

SearchSecurity. “What Is Data Encryption Standard (DES)? - Definition from WhatIs.Com.” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/definition/Data-Encryption-Standard.

“What Is Encryption and How Does It Work?” Accessed April 25, 2020. https://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/definition/encryption.